Monday, 26 November 2012

Live '81

This is a bit of a puzzling Radio show.
Firstly there's no venue or date from it. Upon intent listening there's also no mention at all in this short set where it may have been recorded. 

The introduction Radio announcer does say 'From the BBC here's BOC' but he has an american accent so I'm 99.9% certain that this was not taken from the so called BBC rock hour as the BBC only used 2 American presenters at this time (Kid Jenson and Paul Gambachini) and the voice is neither of them. 

In fact the BBC Rock hour changed it's name to 'In Concert' which was introduced by English Richard Skinner and the DJ voice is not him either so again it's highly unlikely that it's from the BBC, even though the official BOC site says it is.
And final 'proof' that this is NOT a BBC show is that Eric swears on the intro to 'Godzilla' and the BBC would NEVER have allowed the swearing let alone the 'F' word be broadcasted in 1981. It wasn't until 1985 that Madonna swore LIVE and there were so many complaints at the time, as it wasn't 'expected' from the BBC to allow this, so they had to issue a public apology.

So whilst we potentially part of the riddle solved we can establish that the existing cover artwork is not only crap but wrong.

So I've made my own yet again.
There is an amazing version of  '7 screaming Diz-busters' from this set which clocks in at over 15 mins. 
In it Eric explains in detail how he became a rock 'n' roll star and signed a deal with the devil.
So utlising the old Black Sabbath compilation artwork from 1978 seemed the only right thing to do!!

 Anyway we have a short set here which is either edited for Radio broadcast or was a support slot. I'm having trouble pinning the date down but i reckon from the song choice and the way certain songs are introduced, and that 'FOAUO' had just been released i'm going to go for sometime in June of 1981.And it's got Albert on drums. I do know however that's it's NOT from Bonds or Spit though.

Stellar quality here, just a few mistakes here and there but with the already mentioned extended '7 screaming diz-busters' and an extended '(Don't Fear) The Reaper' clocking in at over 7 and a half minutes, with an extended solo from Buck that is simply superb you can't go wrong.

If anyone does have any information on this show then please let me know and I can update this post and give you credit of course.

Try and get hold of this show, it's definately worth seeking it out.

Track listing:
1. ETI
2. Veteran of the Psychic wars
3. 7 Screaming Diz-busters
4. Joan Crawford
5. Burnin' for you
6. Godzilla
7. (Don't fear) The Reaper

No comments:

Post a Comment